Faculty of Mathematics, Physics
and Informatics
Comenius University Bratislava

Department of Nuclear Physics and Biophysics

The members of the department participate in all three collage education degrees. They guarantee bachelor (Physics, Renewable energy sources and environmental physics, Biomedical physics), master and PhD. programs (Nuclear and Particle physics, Biomedical Physics, Biophysics and chemical physics, Environmental physics, Renewable energy sources, Meteorology, and climatology).

In the field of particle physics, the department study high energy proton-proton, proton-nucleon, and nucleon-nucleon collisions at accelerator LHC at CERN. The main topic is: 

  • study of deep inelastic scaterring related to heavy quark physics (experiment ATLAS),
  • so-called soft hadron physics oriented mainly on high multiplicity processes and Bose-Einstein correlations, which describe quark confinment (experiment ATLAS),
  • study of nucleon-nucleon (as well as proton-nucleon) collisions, which is focused on research of new states of nuclear matter, so-called quark-gluon plasma (experiment ALICE).

In the field of nuclear physics, the research is oriented to study heavy and super-heavy nuclei synthesis, structure and decays of exotic nuclei, nuclear reaction mechanism (expriments SHIP in GSI Darmstadt), as well as study atom nuclei using radioactive beams (experiment ISOLDE at CERN), study of rear type of nuclear processes (experiment NEMO), and study of neutrino physics.

Problematics of radiation and environmental physics is covered by study of cosmogenic radionuclides production and cosmic rays interactions with universe objects (Los Alamos National Laboratory, MPI Mainz), study of natural and anthropogenic radionuclides variations in the enviroment (IAEA Vienna, SUJV Dubna), development of microdosimetric models of radiative damage (NRPI Praha), radon problematics (PAS Krakow, University of Pannonia), and development of accelerator technologies oriented to solving different environmental problems (IAEA Vienna, VERA, Vienna, ETH Zurich, …).

In the field of biophysics, biomedical physics and chemical physics the department addresses scientific research tasks to the structure and physical properties of biomembranes and biopolymers. The research is dedicated to molecular dynamics and computer simulations of biosystems (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany), development and application of quantum mechanical methods in biological and chemical systems (University of Waterloo, Canada; RA Laboratory, UK), study of physical phenomena on biological and non-biological interfaces.

The members develop biosensors and new materials based on self-assembled biomimetic structures (ORNL, USA; University of Toronto, Canada; University of California San Diego, USA, University College Dublin, Ireland; Moscow University, Kazan University, Russia; University of Athens, Greece).

Organisational Structure, Staff, Contacts

Department Chair:
prof. RNDr. Jozef Masarik, DrSc.F1 374456 
Associate Department Chairs:
prof. RNDr. Tibor Hianik, DrSc.F1 346683 
doc. RNDr. Karol Holý, CSc.F1 264526 
Director for Administration:
Ing. RNDr. Milan Melicherčík, PhD.F1 228381 
Director for Administration and Director for Information Technologies:
doc. RNDr. Ivan Sýkora, PhD.F1 302458, 449 
Administrative Assistant:
Michaela HerichováF1 376525 

Division of Nuclear Physics

Division Chair:
doc. Mgr. Stanislav Antalic, PhD.F1 270453 
Academic Staff:
doc. Mgr. Stanislav Antalic, PhD.F1 270453 
Research Staff:
Mgr. Boris Andel, PhD.F1 268543 
Mgr. Rastislav Dvornický, PhD.F1 268543 
prof. RNDr. Fedor Šimkovic, CSc.F1 269452 
Postdoctoral Fellows:
Amina Khatun, PhD.F1 265266 

Division of Sub-nuclear Physics

Division Chair:
prof. RNDr. Branislav Sitár, DrSc.F2 139861 
Academic Staff:
Mgr. Michal Dubovský, PhD.F1 271353 
prof. RNDr. Branislav Sitár, DrSc.F2 139861 
prof. RNDr. Stanislav Tokár, DrSc.F1 375407 
doc. RNDr. Tibor Ženiš, PhD.F1 373455 
Research Staff:
Mgr. Róbert Astaloš, PhD.F1 363421 
doc. Mgr. Pavol Bartoš, PhD.F1 363421 
Mgr. Barbora Eckerová, PhD.F1 271461 
doc. Mgr. Michal Mereš, PhD.F1 307301 
RNDr. Miroslav Pikna, PhD.F1 301738, 269 
RNDr. Imrich Szarka, CSc.F1 274454 

Division of Radiation Physics

Division Chair:
prof. RNDr. Jozef Masarik, DrSc.F1 374456 
Academic Staff:
doc. RNDr. Radoslav Böhm, PhD.F1 249771 
doc. RNDr. Karol Holý, CSc.F1 264526 
Ing. Jakub Kaizer, PhD.F1 275542 
Mgr. Ivan Kontuľ, PhD.F1 272652 
prof. RNDr. Jozef Masarik, DrSc.F1 374456 
doc. RNDr. Ivan Sýkora, PhD.F1 302458, 449 
Research Staff:
doc. Mgr. Róbert Breier, PhD.F1 373455 
RNDr. Martin Bulko, PhD.F1 267451 
RNDr. Terézia Eckertová, PhD.F1 266  
doc. RNDr. Miroslav Ješkovský, PhD.F1 275542 
doc. RNDr. Monika Müllerová, PhD.F1 362485 
prof. RNDr. Pavel Povinec, DrSc.F1 273544 
RNDr. Marta RichtárikováF1 272652 
Mgr. Jakub Zeman, PhD.F2 140302 

Division of Biophysics

Division Chair:
prof. RNDr. Tibor Hianik, DrSc.F1 346683 
Academic Staff:
prof. RNDr. Melánia Babincová, CSc.F1 226685 
Mgr. Zuzana Garaiová, PhD.F1 350115 
prof. RNDr. Tibor Hianik, DrSc.F1 346683 
Mgr. Marek Tatarko, PhD.F1 342286 
Research Staff:
RNDr. Peter Rybár, PhD.F1 342286, 241 
Mgr. Veronika Šubjaková, PhD.F1 350115 

Division of Chemical Physics

Division Chair:
prof. RNDr. Ján Urban, DrSc.F1 227585 
Academic Staff:
prof. RNDr. Peter Babinec, CSc.F1 351(674) 
prof. Ing. Pavel Mach, CSc.F1 345682 
Ing. RNDr. Milan Melicherčík, PhD.F1 228381 
Mgr. Ivan Sukuba, PhD.F1 349681 
prof. RNDr. Ján Urban, DrSc.F1 227585 

Division of Biomedical Physics

Division Chair:
prof. RNDr. Libuša Šikurová, CSc.F1 353124 
Academic Staff:
Mgr. Katarína Čechová, PhD.F1 323  
RNDr. Marcela Morvová, PhD.F2 -109624 
prof. RNDr. Libuša Šikurová, CSc.F1 353124 
doc. RNDr. Iveta Waczulíková, PhD.F1 230626 
RNDr. Milan Zvarík, PhD.F2 -109624 

Other Department Staff:
Jozef HaškoF1 306763 
Michaela HerichováF1 376525 
Miroslav ŠulcF1 303763 

Graduate Students:
Mgr. Zuzana BardačováF1 362485 
Mgr. Viktória BenkováF1 256  
Mgr. Alžbeta BrandýsováF1 266  
Mgr. Adriana DohnalováF1 362  
Mgr. Natália DžalaiováF1 305301 
Mgr. Daniela DžubinskáF1 307492 
Mgr. Eliška EckerováF1 362485 
Mgr. Marián IvanovF1 305  
Mgr. Juraj JackoF1 324  
Mgr. Lucia KeszeghováF1 271353 
Mgr. Jakub KvasniakF1 272652 
Mgr. Jozef MištF1 237  
RNDr. Jozef MotyčkaF1 228381 
Mgr. Patrick MydlaF1 323  
Ovidiu-Vasile NitescuF1 362485 
Mgr. Adam SitarčíkF1 257  
Kiran Sudhakar Sontakke   
Mgr. Daniel SuchýF1 271461 
Mgr. Karol Sučák   
Mgr. Šimon ŠutýF1 324  
Mgr. Martina VelískováF1 307492 

External Collaborators:
Ing. Vladimír Mlynárik, DrSc.